Brooklyn Cyclones win first New York-Penn League title since ’01


The Single-A Brooklyn Cyclones gained their first New York-Penn League championship since 2001, beating the Lowell Spinners, 4-3, on Tuesday evening in a decisive Recreation Three at MCU Park.

Yoel Romero hit a run-scoring single within the seventh inning to propel Brooklyn to the title. Antoine Duplantis scored on the play after he hit an RBI triple.

The one by Romero capped a two-run inning for the Cyclones that began when Duplantis hit a triple, scoring Jake Mangum.

After Brooklyn crossed the plate for 2 runs within the second inning, Lowell went up 3-2 after Nick Decker and Cameron Cannon scored on an error within the third inning and Marino Campana hit a solo dwelling run within the seventh.

Third-round decide Matt Allan pitched three scoreless innings. Earlier than becoming a member of the Cyclones, Allan went 1-Zero with a 1.08 ERA with the GCL Mets.

Mitch Ragan (4-2) bought the win in aid whereas Yusniel Padron-Artilles (8-2) took the loss.

Buy occasion tickets to The Amazin’ 1969 New York Mets: A World Championship for the Ages offered by The Paley Heart for Media and New York Submit. Enter promo code: NYPOST to unlock tickets solely obtainable for Submit readers.